About a boy

It’s late, for a 10 year old. Who am I to judge the kid anyway? At first we didn’t really pay much attention to the lanky kid browsing through the general fiction section.

After a while, he smiles and walks up to us with a copy of Conn Iggulden’s ‘Bones of the Hills’. As politely as I can I ask the kid his age. He’s a good sport…

“Ten…” he says.

Before I can stop myself from saying it, I do…

“Are you sure this is the book you want?” There are reasons for asking him this seemingly unnecessary question, firstly because he looked a little too young to be reading the book, and secondly this powerful novel is Iggulden’s third novel of his bestselling Conqueror series, which means he must have read the previous novel from the series (quite doubtful about this), heard about the author, or has no clue who he guy is and what the book’s about but likes challenges anyway.

Yes, he wants it. He looks at me with eyes that probably say, “This is the book I want to read, and I’m paying for it.” He’s got a sweet, innocent smile…

“Can I go and get some money from my parents, I’ll be right back,” he says.

I smile and look at him as he walks away from the store.

For sometime, I sit there yapping with my friends assuming that the kid isn’t going to come back but he’s back…

…with the money and a little girl of about 13 who wants Nicholas Spark’s ‘The last song’.

I’m happy, honestly, as long as children read books, regardless of their choice.

About Junction Bookstore

A living dream... this blanket of books... ~ bookstore owner

Leave a Reply

Closed on Mondays but open every other day,
from 10:30a to 8:30p

Lunch break: 1:00p to 2:00p

Tel: 326475
Email: junction.bookstore@gmail.com
Facebook: Junction Bookstore

READING GROUP

Every Thursday at 6:00p, a group of us meet to discuss books/short stories/articles/poetry together with a beverage of choice.

Categories

Flickr Photos

